Breaking: Jacob Oulanya wins the Speaker of Parliament seat

Amoro Member of Parliament Jacob Oulanyah has won the race being the Speaker of the 11th Parliament of Uganda.

SSemujju Nganda from Forum for Democratic Change managed to get 15 votes while Alintwala Rebecca Kadaga who was independent managed to get 197 votes. Jacob Oulanyah from NRM won the race with 310 votes.

The National Resistance Movement flag bearer, who is also the MP for Amoro County, Jacob Oulanyah has won the Speakership race becoming the Speaker of the 11th Parliament after defeating Hon. Rebecca Kadaga who has been the Speaker of Parliament for the past 10 years.

[custom-related-posts title=”Related Posts” none_text=”None found” order_by=”title” order=”ASC”]

Jacob Oulanyah who was endorsed by NRM Central Executive Committee yesterday on Sunday evening managed to garner 310 votes while his closest rival Rebecca Alintwala Kadaga managed to get 197 votes. Hon. Ssemujju Nganda from FDC who is also the Forum for Democratic Change candidate managed to trail behind with 15 votes.

Jacob Oulanyah will now head the third arm of the government – Legislature for the next five years till 2021.

522 Members of parliament managed to vote out of 529 meaning that only 7 members of parliament abstained. The voting of the Vice Speaker of Parliament is yet to begin.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *