HomeNewsSouth Sudan becomes the 6th member to join the East African Community

South Sudan becomes the 6th member to join the East African Community

The republic of South Sudan has fully entered the East African Community economic block as the 6th member making the community have the population of around 162 Million people.
The Juba government was admitted during the 17th Head of States summit which is currently taking place in Arusha Tanzania. The decision was taken on Wednesday 2nd March, 2016 and prior the meeting; it was known that entry of South Sudan into the regional block was among the things on the agenda.
“South Sudan is a new member of the EAC,” said the EAC secretariat on its social media page on Wednesday soon after the decision was made.
South Sudan applied to join the EAC in 2012 after being invited by Rwanda and Kenya. Its application was followed by Sudan but the latter was denied entry on spot due to the face that Sudan has no common boarders with the current EAC and again Sudan was mistreating the blacks. Somalia too applied and it is still being considered for inclusion.

Nasa Tushabe
Nasa Tushabe
A Ugandan Business and Financial News Journalist. Writer and a critic. Reports Entertainment News for Blizz Uganda website.

Latest News

Follow Us


Business News


error: Content is protected !!