Home News Politics Full List of appointed Uganda’s Shadow Cabinet ministers 2021

Full List of appointed Uganda’s Shadow Cabinet ministers 2021

Full List of appointed Uganda’s Shadow Cabinet ministers 2021

The 11th Leader of Opposition in Parliament, MP Mathias Mpuuga, has released a list of shadow cabinet ministers that he will work with for the next 5 years following his appointment on May 28th/2021.

Mr Mathias Mpuuga, has maintained few of the people brought on board by his predecessor Betty Aol Ochan, as majority of the members are new faces.

Mr Mpuuga’s cabinet list has been released today Friday 25th/06/2021 and is comprised of 30 members of which 18 are from the National Unity Platform (NUP), Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) has been given seven slots, while the Uganda people’s Congress (UPC), Democratic Party (DP) and People’s Progressive Party (PPP) have each one member and two Independents.

Mr. Mpuuga’s appointments are in accordance with Article 82A(c) of the constitution of the Republic of Uganda and Rule 14(2) of the Rules of Procedure of Parliament, which provides that “the Leader of the Opposition shall in consultation with his/her party leadership appoint a shadow cabinet from members of the Opposition in Parliament.
The shadow cabinet holds portfolios and functions corresponding to those of Cabinet ministers and is mandated to provide alternative policy recommendations to government on the floor of Parliament.

“By virtue of powers conferred upon me under Article 82A(c) of the Constitution and Rule 14 (2) of the Rules of Procedure of Parliament, I have appointed and designated the following Honourable Members of Parliament to the Shadow Cabinet.” Said Mpuuga.

Wilfred Nuwagaba (Independent) – Attorney General

Shamim Malende (NUP) – Justice and Constitutional Affairs,

Muwanga Kivumbi (NUP) – Finance Planning. Economic Devt,

Nantongo Fortune Rose (DP) – Gender Labour and Social Dev’t,

Atkins Katusabe (FDC) – Public Service,

Derrick Nyeko (NUP)-Presidency and Security,

Abed Bwanika (NUP)- Agriculture,

Brendah Nabukenya (NUP)- Education,

Jonathan Odur (UPC)- Defense and Veteran Affairs,

Abdallah Kiwanuka (NUP)- Internal Affairs,

Timothy Batuwa Lusala (FDC)- Health,

Abubaker Kawalya (NUP)- KCCA,

Muwada Nkunyingi (NUP)- Foreign Affairs,

Ronald Balimwezo (NUP)- Lands and Housing,

Asinasi Nyakato (FDC)- Energy and Minerals,

Karem Masaba (Ind)- Tourism & Wildlife, Frank Kabuye (NUP)

Kabuye Frank (NUP) Youth & Children Affairs,

Francis Mwijukye (FDC)- Trade & Industry,

Betty Naluyima (NUP)- Local Govts,

Hanifa Nabukeera (NUP)- Human Rights,

Christine Kaaya Nakimwera (NUP)- Water and Environment,

Gorreth Namugga (NUP)- Science Innovations & Technology,

Hilary Kiyaga (NUP)- Culture and Performing Arts,

Anna Adeke Ebaju (FDC)- Co-operatives & Microfinance,

Joyce Bagala (NUP)- Information & Anti-Corruption, Santa Okot (PPP)- Special Regions,

Gilbert Olanya (FDC)- East African Community Affairs,

Charles Tebandeke (NUP)- Animal Industry and Fisheries

Geoffrey Kayemba (NUP)- Sports.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

error: Content is protected !!