HomeNewsNationalMathias Mpuuga appointed Leader of Opposition - full list of appointments

Mathias Mpuuga appointed Leader of Opposition – full list of appointments

The National Unity Platform which is the largest opposition party in Uganda has appointed the NUP’s Buganda Region VICE President Mathias Mpuuga as the Leader of Opposition replacing Betty Aol Ochan of FDC who has been the Leader of opposition in the Parliament from 2018-202.

Leader of opposition is appointed by the party having the biggest number of opposition members which is NUP with 57 MPs, followed by FDC with 32 MPs, UPC and DP having 9 members each.

The Leader of Opposition among other things is to appoint the shadow cabinet, to keep the ruling government in check and giving official response to the Presidential State of the Nation Address.

In other appointments, Manjiya County John Baptist Nambeshe was appointed the Chief Whip with Kyebakutika Manjeri the Woman MP Jinja as his Vice. Lawyer and MP Busiro South MP Medard Ssegona was appointed as the Chairperson Public accounts committee deputized by Counsel Asuman Basalirwa of Bugiri Municipality while Joesl Ssenyonyi of Nakawa West was appointed the Chairperson of the Parliamentary Committee of Commissions, Staturory Athorities and State Enterprises (COSASE) replacing Hon. Mubarak Munyagwa of Kawempe South. Ssenyonyi will be deputized by Lucy Akello, the Amuru District Woman MP.

Read also: Rebecca Kadaga denied a chance by Chief Justice to address parliament for the last time

Chairperson Government Assurances Committe (GAC) is Hon. Nambooze Betty Bakireke of Mukono Municipality deputized by Hon. Joseph Ssewungu Gonzaga of Kalungu West County. Chairperson of Local Government Accounts Committee is Hon. Ojara Martin Mapenduzi of Bardeg-Layibi Consitituency deputized by Hon. Paulson Luttamaguzi Ssemakula of Nakaseke South County.

Representative to the PAN African Parliament is Hon. Patrick Nsamba Oshabe of Kassanda North County, The representative to the Inter-parliamentary Union Hon. Flavia Kalule Nabagabe the Kassanda District Woman MP, Representatice to the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association is Hon. David Kalwanga Lukyamuzi of Busunjju County and Hon. Aisha Kabanda the Woman MP Butambala district appointed to the Parliamentary Pension Fund.

According to a statement released by Lewis Rubongoya the general secretary National Unity Platform, the list of Shadow Cabinet will be released later.

Nasa Tushabe
Nasa Tushabe
A Ugandan Business and Financial News Journalist. Writer and a critic. Reports Entertainment News for Blizz Uganda website.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Latest News

Follow Us


Business News


error: Content is protected !!