Government takes over Busoga University. To pay its 15Bn loan

The Government of Uganda has agreed to take over the management of Busoga University following consultations with stake holders and the Anglican Church clergy in Busoga region.

The agreement was reached on by the government on Saturday 17th July which will see the government inherit the 15Bn loan that Busoga University has accumulated after years of operation.

The Iganga based university becomes the 11th Public University in Uganda after the traditional 5 public universities of Makerere University, Mbarara University of Science and Technology, Gulu University, Kyambogo University and Busitema, 3 newly government founded Universities of Muni University, Soroti University and Lira University, newly acquired Kabale University and the Uganda Management Institute.

Busoga Universty was founded as a Private University in 1999 by the Busoga Central Diocese, Church of Uganda.

By 2014, the University’s enrollment had peaked at 5,000 students and an excess of 370 staff. The University had additionally established 6 campuses and study centers in Jinja, Kamulu, Bugiri, Kaliro, Palisa and Bugembe campus.

After a series of meetings, the government has agreed to take over Busoga University as a public institution with its Shs15b loan. We shall pay the loan when we know what the money was used for and If this money was spent on public efforts.” President Museveni said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *